mercredi 22 avril 2015

Now adding Facebook login

We introduced accounts in our last update, but no such system could be complete without social media login. So starting with today's release, you can also login using your Facebook account. Please consider that if you have a Brothers in Games account and you are logging in trough your Facebook account, you'll be considered as two different profiles.

To log in or sign in, simply tap the profile icon on the Action Bar or in the menu. It will open the log in form.

To log in, tap the profile icon.
Logging in trough Facebook offers the same benefits as creating an account on Brothers in Games. We provide this feature so your login process will be easier and you don't have to create a new account on a new online service.

Log in trough Facebook privacy policy

When you log in trough Facebook, we only access the public information from your profile. We dont't access your friends list or pictures and we can't read or post on your wall.

When you log in trough Facebook, we only collect your username during your first sign up to use it as... your Brothers in Games username. Currently, your name is not displayed publicly, and we'll offer you a way to change it soon if you have another gamer nickname.

At anytime you can prevent Brothers in Games to access to your Facebook account by removing the application on your applications management page.

vendredi 17 avril 2015

Keep a better track of your tournaments

The new version 1.11 of Brothers in Games T3 is out (or will soon be) and is introducing a big change in the way to use Brothers in Games apps. This comes with the correction of what we think is the biggest flaw on our apps: the lack of persistence of your data.

Everything you have set up in Brothers in Games is saved on your device, but is lost if you change or reset that device. Until now. We have added the accounts to the Brothers in Games T3 app. From now, if you find a tournament you want to follow, it will be stored on your account. This has several benefits:

  • You'll find your selection on any device
  • You don't need to install Brothers in Games on the same device as Brothers in Games T3. With the next release, Brothers in Games will fetch your selection from your account, no matter on which device it is running.
  • Your data is safe even if you delete the app, reset your device or get a new one.

Because the apps are now using a centralized online datastore, we are able to show your favorite tournaments in the Brothers in Games T3 list. We are also able to show you how popular a tournament may be by displaying the count of people having set that tournament as a favorite (this will be added in the next release).

Remember that Brothers in Games T3 is designed to help you find a tournament, not manage your favorite ones. We think that being able to select a tournament to follow is a useful feature. Just like being able to see in the main view which ones are selected as favorite. But managing your favorite tournaments will come back in the Brothers in Games app.

So of course, if you want to use this feature, you will need to create an account. Know that a Facebook login will come with the next update. So if you don't want to create an account, be patient until next week.